The Stacey Night 2016. The last hurrah – goodbye and thanks


Monday, 24 October
Max Watts* 125 Swanston St
Doors open 6pm – Music commences 7pm

Named after the late universally-admired conductor Brian Stacey, this sensational night of swing sees acclaimed singers from the music-theatre and jazz worlds backed by the 20 piece Stacey Big Band (including some of Australia’s finest jazz and session musicians) pumped through a rock ‘n’ roll PA… impressed?

The list of singers for this grand finale is impressive – Silvie Paladino, David Hobson, Lior Attar Nina Ferro, Matt Hetherington, Bob Valentine, Kane Alexander, Michael Cormick,Tracy Bartram and many more.

Soon after Brian’s tragic death on the eve of Sunset Boulevard’s opening night in 1996, The Stacey Trust was established honouring Stacey’s memory via an annual award supporting emerging Australian conductors who display the Stacey-like characteristics of vision, versatility, vitality and expertise. Recipients have gone on to forge careers here and overseas.

After 20 years the Trust has decided it’s time to wind up this worthy endeavour and to do so with one last blast.

Be there.

* Formerly Hifi Bar where this event originally took place.

Tickets available through Oztix:


1998 Guy Noble
1999 Kynan Johns
2000 Max Xinyu-Liu
2001 Matthew Coorey
2002 Kellie Dickerson
2003 Benjamin Northey
2004 Simon Hewett
2005 Mark Shiell
2006 Ollivier Cuneo
2007 Dane Lam
2008 Paul Fitzsimon
2008 Vanessa Scammell
2009 Daniel Smith
2010 Burhan Güner
2011 Trevor Jones
2011 James Pratt
2012 Daniel Carter
2013 Carolyn Watson
2014 Russell Ger
2015 Jessica Gethin
2016 Toby Thatcher


Sir Cameron Mackintosh